log in


Brought to you by:

Rally Trinidad 2005 - STAG/ULTRA International Stages (TTRC)

  • Written by Kavita
  • Published in Rally

Article Index



The Stag / Ultra Rally Trinidad International over the weekend from all accounts was a huge success; Teams from Barbados , St Vincent and the UK made the trip to our shores!

Photography by Devi Nath, Joe Cool, Gerrard Wilson, Peter Arindell, Paul Adam, Ciny Lau, Ryan Ramsaran, Kester Johnson, Candace Bhagirath, Duane Boodasingh, Narend Sooknarine and Chrisitan Cozier 




Article courtesy TTRC

John WRC CorollaThe Stag / Ultra Rally Trinidad International over the weekend from all accounts was a huge Success; Teams from Barbados , St Vincent and the UK made the trip to our shores.

From the Start at ANSA Mc Al compound in Chaguanas on Saturday morning you could tell the Teams were eager to get started, several Cars did not make the starting line , Vishal Dhanraj in the ESSO Sunny , Dave Rampersad EVO 1 and Barry McKenzie in the Castrol EVO 6.

Rain at the start of the first Stage in Cedar Hill added some Flavor to the first run with the fastest time being 2:08sec post by John Powell in the WRC Corolla followed by a 2:12sec run for Ainsley Lochan, the Courts Ignis in the 2 WD class wowed the large Spectator turnout with a fantastic run of 2:37 sec and this is in the pouring rain!!!

Ainsley crashOn Stage 2 the Stag/ Ultra/ Josef's Evo7 met with disaster when he went off the road at over 100MPH and rolled his Rallycar five times, as usual the Safety features of our FIA Spec Cars kept our competitors unhurt and they were now ready to look on and enjoy some great tasting Stag as the damage to the Rallycar was extensive.

Bobby Ramdass Sunny Turbo also suffered some damage when he caught the edge of the road and broke his suspension on the Cedar Hill Stage. Darrel Ramesar EVO1 also had his share of bad luck and he was off on the 2nd Stage (Bronte) with heavy Suspension damage. By the end of the First Leg in South the Field had been reduced to 16 Rallycars to take the Starters Order in the Night Stages in Chaguaramas.

John Powell was now in the Lead with 1:54 Sec to the nearest competitor the Subaru of Harold Morley from the UK and in close pursuit our Local Driver of the Castrol EVO 2 Fawaz Mohammed.

Webster - Night Stage ChagOur Chaguaramas Stage location was transform into a beautiful Race Course with Lights, Camera and Action on the Menu, the Spectators were thrilled with the amazing Car control of our Drivers and especially John Powell , Fawaz Mohammed, and the Bajans teams of Sean Gill and James Betts. Over a 1500 Fans came out to enjoy the action in Chag.

The stage had to be changed in the night to accommodate the Army which has a base in the same location but this turned out to be a blessing in disguise as the shorter stage was well received by the Spectators and Teams alike.

Erica Dinoo had a major off on the Night Stage and was rear ended by Harold Morley who just could not see the Rallycar on that narrow blind corner; Erica was taken to the Hospital for a bruised leg and was release the same night.

The Night stage ended with the same running order to start Sunday.
One of our Best high speed run Waterloo had to be cancelled as the Borough began work on the entrance of the stage on Saturday , so we had to run Woodford only which seems to have inspired Colin Khan in the Subaru V3 who as word has it had the Best Jump of the Day on this Stage.

John "D O" Powell showed the fans the best Donuts on the Sunday Chag Finale, with the climax of the Rally Trinidad looming the pressure was on for max performance if you want to catch up to the front runners resulting in several spins and near rollovers during the day.

Morley WRC SubaruIn the end John "D O" Powell and Nick Telfer in the ICSL/ Trinidad Mooring & Launch Services Toyota / ULTRA/ Stag Corolla WRC dominated the rally albeit lacking really strong competition with Barry McKenzie in the CASTROL EVO6 and Ainsley Lochan in the STAG /ULTRA EVO7 out of the Rally, he was followed to the Podium by Harold Morley & Geoffrey Goddard WRC Subaru and in Third position Overall the Team of Fawaz Mohammed and Ishwar Patel in the Castrol EVO2.

The 2WD class was divided into 2 Groups based on engine size and modifications, and in group 1-3 the Competition was ferocious with the Foreign team fighting for overall dominance, in the end Sean Gill & Michael Cummings in the Suzuki Ignis (Barbados) won the class with a heart stopping lead of only 21 Secs over second placed Team of Steven Ollivierre & Daryl Ollivierre in the Mitsubishi Mivec 1600cc following in Third place another Barbados Team of James Betts & Jeremy Gonsalves in the OPEL Corsa 1400cc .

 Reezan 2WD Grp2The other 2 WD Group (1-4) had a very surprising winner, the novice team of Rezan Mohammed and Arshad Mondro in the unsponsored Lancer 1800 Turbo, truly showed their commitment by their First place finishing 51sec ahead of the seasoned veterans of Jerome Lum Hung and Rudy Ramsawak in the Fresto/J N Harriman Corolla Turbo, Franklyn Seegobin bought up the third Place position.

The Team Prize was won by the Barbados Duo of Sean Gill (Ignis) and James Betts (Opel Corsa).

Prize giving took place immediately after on the Spectator Platform with the Beautiful STAG Girls handing out Trophies.




TT Motorsport Car Clubs

  • Autosport - Drags, Drag & Wind
  • C.A.R.S. - Solodex/Autocross
  • Rally Club TT - Rally
  • Side-B - Off Road
  • Trail Blazers - Off Road
  • Trini Truckin'
  • TTASA - Drags, Circuit, Karting
  • TTDA - Drift
  • TTKA - Karting
  • TTORC - Off Road
  • TTundra - Drag Racing