log in

Auto News

Brought to you by:

Auto News

BMW wins the 2010 Nürburgring 24hr race

Team BMW wins Nürburgring 24-hour race

Team BMW Motorsport has made a triumphant return and won the 2010 24-hour race at the Nürburgring-Nordschleife. Five years since the manufacturer’s last victory, the no. 25 BMW M3 GT2 claimed BMW’s 19th victory at this endurance classic on Sunday. The winning car, with Jörg Müller (DE), Augusto Farfus (BR), Uwe Alzen (DE) and Pedro Lamy (PT) at the wheel, crossed the finish line first after 154 laps of the 25.378-kilometre circuit. The quartet of drivers produced a flawless performance and fought their way onto the top step of the podium despite gearbox problems in the last three hours.
  • Written by Narend Sooknarine
  • Category: Auto News

Three in in a row for the Trinidad Rocket.

Sheldon Bissessar - The Trinidad RocketSheldon Bissessar has done it again!

The Top Dragster Elite 8 competition was again taken by storm despite the hot weather which in fact was responsible for everyone's times dropping off.

The Trinidad Rocket managed to secure the number two position after three rounds of qualifying just hundreths of a second off Eddie Carrecia's pacesetting run of 5.94 vs. Bissessar's 5.96. They were the only two Top Dragsters to qualify in the five-second range. Carrecia's luck ran out however as he continued into the first elimination round with a 6.20 pass against a dial in time 5.85, breaking a valve in the process. Sheldon however decimated the competition including Carrecia with an astounding 5.88 pass against a dial of 5.82! The run would stand as the fastest Top Dragster time of the meet as track temperatures soared to 135 degrees while ambient temps approached the 100 degree mark.

Day two would see Sheldon entering the Elite 8 competition in the number one spot taking the win in round one against James Leo who did not make it to the start line. Sheldon still ran a This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and headed into round two against Burwell Kendrick who put up a reasonable fight given the conditions with a pass of This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. vs Bissessar's This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . The Top Dragster Elite 8 final Round saw Bissessar line up against Rob McKinley. Mc Kinley got the jump with slightly better reaction time but it was all over by 60ft mark as Bissessar rocketed away to take the win at Rockingham with a This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. vs. Mc Kinley's This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . The announcer remarked "...that is one stout Top Dragster!". This win makes it three consecutive wins for Sheldon as he took the Elite 8 competition in Palm Beach, Baton Rouge and now at Rockingham.

So why not run in the Top Dragster dial-up competition?

"Because we don't get to run all-out". says Bissessar.



Final order after one round of qualifying in Elite 8 Top Dragster at the 2010 Nitro Jam Series, IHRA Spring Nitro Jam (May 1st - May 2nd, 2010):

  Psn   Driver                Vehicle                       ET    Speed
    1. Sheldon Bissessar    Sipple                          5.960  225.75
    2. Rob McKinley         Massey                          6.165  214.55
    3. Burwell Kendrick     Horton                          6.311  217.25
    4. Jody Stroud          Spitzer                         6.424  214.35
    5. James Leo            Page                            6.575  202.52
    6. Scott Duggins        RaceTech                        6.776  186.77
    7. Travis Blalock       RaceTech                        6.861  198.88
    8. Vince Musolino       Miller                          6.863  188.12

  • Written by Editor in Chief | Narend Sooknarine
  • Category: Auto News

Sheldon Bissessar featured in IHRA Magazine

Sheldon BissessarSheldon Bissessar has been featured on 7 pages of the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Drag Racing Magazine. Sheldon has both the elapsed time world record and the speed world record for Top Dragster making this 2 world records for Trinidad and Tobago.

Check out the parts of the coverage HERE in a pdf download.

  • Written by Kavita
  • Category: Auto News

SpeedTech Motorsports breaks EVO Record

SpeedTech MotorsportsFeb 22nd 2010
SpeedTech Motorsports (STM) Project DS9 Claims fastest Evo (IV-IX) World Record – 8.420 @ 167.6 MPH!

After being let down by a damp track at the '4 & Rotary Nationals' last month, Dave Stock (owner and driver) and the STM crew were eager to get the car back to Masterton Motorplex for the Central Nationals this weekend. The weather gods were kind to us, with hot temperatures and not a cloud to be seen.

  • Written by Ben Silcock @ STM
  • Category: Auto News

Sheldon Bissessar breaks the IHRA World Record twice!

The Trinidad Rocket Sheldon Bissessar starts 2010 setting more drag racing records!

Palm Beach International Raceway, Florida -

Sheldon's first qualifying pass of the day was a prelude to an amazing night at the Nitro Jam IHRA event at the Palm Beach Raceway. With a run of [email protected] he set the stage for a new IHRA Top Dragster World Record.

He later backed up this record officially in the 3rd round of qualifying, after an amazing transmission rebuild which was finished with only minutes to spare. After some fast pit work by Crew Chief Aaron Sipple and support from racers Eddie Careccia and a most generous sportsman, Larry Clarke who let the team use parts from his spare transmission, Sheldon posted a time [email protected] This made the new IHRA World record official.

Later on the same night, Sheldon ran the 1st round of eliminations, with a rocking pass of This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. lowering the World Record even further! Sheldon Bissessar's record is not a simple one as in fact he broke the Top Dragster track record, posted the fastest ever MPH, qualified number one and advanced into the Elite 8. 

The following night Bissessar wowed the sold-out stands with consistent five-second passes to advance to the finals against Edward "Fast Eddie" Careccia. Careccia, in an effort to take every extra millisecond tripped the lights early as Bissessar rocketed through a [email protected] run to take the win and the Elite 8 trophy! IHRA officials were definitely taking notice of the outlaw-looking machine and its consistent pilot and even the President of IHRA himself, Aaron Polburn came down to have a word with Sheldon, expressing his congratulations and inviting him to race with the IHRA again throughout the coming year.



  • Written by Kavita
  • Category: Auto News

TT Motorsport Car Clubs

  • Autosport - Drags, Drag & Wind
  • C.A.R.S. - Solodex/Autocross
  • Rally Club TT - Rally
  • Side-B - Off Road
  • Trail Blazers - Off Road
  • Trini Truckin'
  • TTASA - Drags, Circuit, Karting
  • TTDA - Drift
  • TTKA - Karting
  • TTORC - Off Road
  • TTundra - Drag Racing